FOG: Footsteps of Ghosts
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Self-Publishing with CreateSpace

Go down

Self-Publishing with CreateSpace Empty Self-Publishing with CreateSpace

Post by Guest Wed May 04, 2016 3:01 am

I wanted to make a topic about my recent experiences with self-publishing a series of books on CreateSpace. I am by no means an expert but when I started, I knew nothing about how to even begin to attempt something like this, and now know more than I did then. I wanted to make a thread to share the knowledge that I’ve amassed from my experiences going through this process so that those who were like me and had no idea who to even ask and what questions to ask, can at least start somewhere. If you’ve been through this process before as well, please, feel free to chime in. I could certainly use some tips and pointers on easier ways of doing things, neat tricks, and resources and guides. Self-publishing is easier than ever before and now those of us with dreams of having our names on the words we wrote is within reach.

First, a little about how my own project started, for some context. Into the Night Land Book One: The Journey

Spoiler:

Shopping around, I found this blogger’s dissection of using different businesses and sites for printing book quality draft proofs. Like here, I decided to go with CreateSpace.

Book 1(425 pages, 6"x9" formatting, was $5.96/copy)
Book 2(344 pages, 6"x9" formatting, was $4.97/copy)
Book 3(435 pages, 6"x9" formatting, was $6.08/copy)
Self-Publishing with CreateSpace Tumblr_nqd4xpAp781rx7vguo3_500
(me a year ago; so frigging happy to see our book looking like an actual book for the very first time!)